Week 4 Project Pitch

I presented my project to Dr Kenny McAlpine for my first project pitch. We discussed what needed more attention and what was working well. The major points raised were that I need to create a stronger critical framework for the reference tracks and produce a stronger analytical framework to aid me when I break down the components of the tracks.

Cricital Framework: What makes the track good?

For the critical framework, I will develop a framework using my own personal opinion of what makes a track good. It will look at the theoretical, compositional and technical aspects of the tracks and ask defining questions such as “does the track have a good balance between repetition and number of hooks?” and “are the chord progressions interesting or predictable / unappealing?”. I intend to continue my research of popular music to justify my opinions of what makes the music good and to help me to define the specific aspects of the tracks that I want to analyse.

Analytical framework: How was the track constructed?

In order to establish the analytical framework, I am going to research music theory and the mixing and mastering theory to understand how to break down the components of a music track. I will need to interview artists, read relevent materials and use any other sources to establish this framework.

Leave a comment